Feeding My Family and Me

Carrots and balloons: the result of a typical Vienna Farmers Market outing!

Last month I went to Omega Institute for a retreat to Feel Good Fitness. I returned with reminders of nutrition info I’d learned over the last few years as I ate more healthfully through my pregnancy and post-baby life.

These days we all have much information to wade through about what we eat, how we eat, where our food comes from. It’s paralyzing at times. Can’t I just feed my kid a strawberry for crying out loud?

Well, it turns out there are some tips that would be wise to consider as you put food on your plate and that of your family’s. Here are my own best tips that I’ve culled from reading books and magazines, attending Omega and other events, and seeing changes in my own health. Take them or leave them – they are based on research, but I’m putting this here as an unofficial helpful guide.

Three ways to eat more healthfully:

  1. Portion your food onto your plate and eat only that at your meal
  2. Fill half your plate with veggies, a quarter with protein and a quarter (or even less) with whole grains (quinoa, millet, brown rice, wheat berries, whole wheat products)
  3. Sit down and pay attention to your food as you eat it – enjoy the experience

Three foods to consider buying organic:

  1. Apples
  2. Strawberries
  3. Celery

Four foods you should eat more of:

  1. Greens, like kale, spinach, broccoli, chard (blanch greens by putting in boiling water till bright green, then removing and putting in ice cold water for a few minutes to stop the cooking; freeze and use later, or put in fridge and add to cooking when needed – I chop up finely and add to loads of stuff)
  2. If you’re a meat eater, buy organic, free-range, grass-fed meat
  3. Fermented foods that have good bacteria to help your digestive system, like miso, kimchee, and real sauerkraut and pickles (refrigerated kind)
  4. Water

Hey – at least FroYo has probiotics!

Check out the local Vienna Farmer’s Market for lots of amazing fresh foods. There are also Fairfax County farmers markets other days of the week. If you want more to read, see Experience Life Magazine, which is a true healthy lifestyle publication.

One thought on “Feeding My Family and Me

Leave a Reply

