Shopping for the Best Deals Around Vienna

In February, I self-imposed a ban on shopping for kid stuff until Bug’s first birthday in March. Now that she’s one, I may continue to shop. However, I am being more frugal and discerning than ever. Like everyone, our budget is tight and I am also getting overwhelmed by the amount of stuff my little girl is accumulating. I was reminded of how much I want her to appreciate more than her fabulous clothing, when I noticed the clear starry sky last night, with Orion shining bright. Not bad for a Northern Virginia night with nearby lights of the Vienna Metro station lighting up the sky.

So where am I shopping these days? I’m so glad you asked:

  • Local Kids Clothing and Gear Shops. Within and near Vienna, there actually are a few choices for buying kids stuff – no need to necessarily trek to the big box stores miles away. Paddington Station is a small consignment shop in town. The Tabby Cat opened in September in Oakton, and offers unique gifts and more high-end clothes (I love the Tea Collection of clothes that they carry). There’s also Baby Blossom close by in Fairfax, which has lots of baby gear items. The Vienna Quilt Shop also features some handcrafted children’s items – located on Maple Ave on the way to Tysons.
  • Online daily deal sites. We’re likely all familiar with Groupon or Living Social. I recently learned about Certifikid, which is like either of those sites but just for kid-related things. They currently have a deal on birthday parties at Childtime Magic Party Place in Vienna.

So I’ll save my pennies a little, then go forth and spend. How about you? Where are you shopping these days locally for the best deals?

8 thoughts on “Shopping for the Best Deals Around Vienna

  1. Congrats on reaching the big 1-year milestone!

    I am in Alexandria and locally there is Bellies and Babies Consignment in Del Ray. And just a few steps away is the Purple Goose, which offers new toys/clothes and they also have a clothing consignment section. You can make a day of it and have lunch in one of the cute places in Del Ray :)

    Also online, check out Zulily for deals on baby/kids stuff.

    Like

    • I have been wanting to go to Purple Goose for a while. I though it was more high end – didn’t realize it has consignment, too. All the more reason for me to get there soon. I hear there’s an ice cream store next to it called Dairy Godmother. Love the name.

      Like

  2. Yes, Purple Goose has consignment section, sometimes you find stuff and other times you don’t…

    Dairy Godmother is the delish custard shop. Let me know if you make it out this way and want to meet up for some custard! They’re closed on Tuesdays.

    Like

    • Hey Rachel! So good of you to comment on my blog! As I mentioned to you at the gym today, many places allow military families to enter sales early and/or for free – it’s the way to go to beat the sometimes crazy crowds on the public sale days.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Spring Cleaning for Me, Organizing for You | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

  4. Pingback: Get Organized: Kids Activity Sites, Donating Stuff and More Vienna Biz Updates | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

  5. Pingback: Get Organized: Kids Activity Sites, Donating Stuff and More Vienna Biz Updates | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

Leave a Reply

