Salt on my Face

I think I’ve broken my own personal record: I’ve been to the gym five times this past week! That’s right, you read correctly: five times! I am on a crusade to lose baby weight.

I really like the classes at my gym. I took three strength classes and two cardio classes this week. Taking a class makes me accountable for a good workout. I can’t just say to myself, “OK, it’s been 30 minutes and I’m bored, so I’m finished.” These classes kick my butt and I feel great after.

It kind of reminds me of labor, actually. It’s mind over body. Can I do just eight more squats? Can I do sixteen triceps curls? Hell yes I can! And when there’s good music on to push forward to, it makes it conceivable that I will survive this workout on my feet and come back for more.

Truth be told, I haven’t lost a pound since I joined the gym three weeks ago. But I haven’t gained any, either! And my energy level is way up – haven’t had coffee in two weeks. I’ve also been super strict about eating good foods.

And one of the best rewards and reinforcements that I had a hard workout is when I’m showering off after class and can taste salt on my face. Hard earned sweat gets washed away and I’m ready to get on with living.

5 thoughts on “Salt on my Face

  1. Pingback: Creating the Holiday Spirit in Vienna | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

  2. Pingback: Cookin’ Up Food in Vienna: Adventures in Groceries and Meals | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

  3. Pingback: The Revolutionary Act of Healthy Living | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

  4. Pingback: Strong and Healthy Rules! Get Active in Vienna. | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

  5. Pingback: Healthy Living Wins Me Health – and a Contest | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

Leave a Reply

