A Day in the Park: A Photo Essay

I have gotten so wrapped up in all the things I “should be” or “need to” be doing as a new parent, that I am getting quite stressed. I’ve always liked to do at least a dozen things at once. It’s getting more difficult to operate that way these days.

So hubby, baby and I hit “pause” and went to Meadowlark Botanical Gardens yesterday. I had briefly visited the garden earlier this summer, but this time I really stopped to enjoy all of its beauty.

We brought some burritos for a little picnic with Bean under a tree. I’d no sooner laid out the blanket and put her there, when I spilled a container of salsa all over her cute new outfit. As I was cleaning it up, I stepped on her hand. Crying ensued (by her). Clumsy mommy – stop moving so fast!

When we had all eaten and calmed down, we snapped a few photos then walked around the garden’s paved walkways. We went over a little bridge to a gazebo over a large pond, where we marveled at the gigantic coy fish and the seemingly old turtles who had moss growing on their backs.

Bean was on her way to a nap so we kept walking, and past people painting. We sat ourselves down next to some pretty orange flowers and let her sleep. We looked at the swaying tall grasses and the weeping willows. We tried not to talk about our plans for the next day or the next week.

Once Bean was up we wandered past the construction site for a new Korean bell chapel. Then we sat on a bench to give Bean her afternoon bottle before heading over to Molly’s Yogurt for an afternoon treat.

Meadowlark seems like a bargain: $25 gets you annual membership for you and a guest, and kids under 6 are always free.

*For more pictures, view my Gallery.

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Park: A Photo Essay

  1. I am so glad that we live near such a beautiful place. I can’t wait to see it this spring. Bean will be able to run down the hill by that time.

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Mom’s Support | So Very Vienna: A New Mom's Adventures Around Town

Leave a Reply

